If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

2021 Galas: Generic Date Information only

Discussion in 'Galas and Events' started by Paul.Uni, Jun 21, 2020.

  1. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    424
    As railways are starting to postpone events into 2021, I thought it might be useful to list the events in one thread. So far the events planned, subject to Covid, are:

    21st-22nd August - Nene Valley Railway Bahamas Enthusiast Weekend https://nvr.org.uk/product.php/236/bahamasenthusiast/
    28th-30th August - Bala Lake Railway August Gala https://bala-lake-railway.co.uk/events/august-gala/
    28th-30th August - Didcot Railway Centre August Bank Holiday Steam Up https://didcotrailwaycentre.org.uk/product.php/128/august-bank-holiday-steam-up
    28st-30th August - Nene Valley Railway Bahamas Fabulous Fifties Weekend https://nvr.org.uk/product.php/249/bahamasfifties
    28th-30th August - Northampton & Lamport Railway Bank Holiday Family Gala https://www.nlr.org.uk/august-gala-2021/
    29th-30th August & 3rd-5th September - East Lancs Railway Flying Scotsman Returns http://www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk/events-activities/2021/8/flying-scotsman-returns.aspx

    3rd-5th September - Ecclesbourne Valley Railway Steam in the Valley https://www.e-v-r.com/events/
    3rd-5th September - Great Central Railway September Diesel Gala https://www.gcrailway.co.uk/september-diesel-gala-2021/
    3rd-5th September - North Norfolk Railway Steam Gala https://www.nnrailway.co.uk/steam_gala/
    4th-5th September - Corris Railway Gala Weekend https://www.corris.co.uk/news/press...way-gala-moved-to-first-weekend-of-september/
    4th-5th September - Middleton Railway September Gala: First & Last Chance Weekend https://www.middletonrailway.org.uk/index.php/special-events/events-2021
    4th-5th September - Plym Valley Railway Autumn Gala https://www.plymrail.co.uk/2021-events
    10th-12th September - Swindon & Cricklade Railway 60th Anniversary of the M&SWJR Gala https://swindon-cricklade-railway.org/event/mswjr60th-gala-weekend/
    11th-12th September - Epping Ongar Railway Steam Gala https://www.eorailway.co.uk/events/steam-gala/
    11th-12th September - Talyllyn Railway Loco No.4 ‘Edward Thomas’ 100 year Celebration Gala https://www.talyllyn.co.uk/events/loco-no-4-edward-thomas-100-year-celebration-gala
    11th-12th September - Watercress Line Open Weekend https://watercressline.co.uk/open-weekend/
    11th-12th September - Whislestop Valley (Kirklees Light Railway) Steam and Diesel Gala https://whislestopvalley.vticket.co.uk/product.php/324
    16th-19th September - Severn Valley Railway Autumn Steam Gala https://www.svr.co.uk/SEItem.aspx?a=184
    17th-18th September - East Lancs Railway Autumn Diesel Gala http://www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk/events-activities/2021/9/autumn-diesel-gala.aspx
    17th-18th September - West Somerset Railway Mixed Traffic Weekend https://www.west-somerset-railway.co.uk/timetables
    23rd-26th September - North Yorkshire Moors Railway Annual Steam gala https://www.nymr.co.uk/Event/annual-steam-gala
    25th-26th September - Didcot Railway Centre Steam & Heritage Diesel Weekend https://didcotrailwaycentre.org.uk/product.php/131/steam-heritage-diesel-weekend
    25th-26th September - Epping Ongar Railway Autumn Diesel Gala https://www.eorailway.co.uk/events/autumn-diesel-gala/
    25th-26th September - Lynton & Barnstaple Railway Autumn Gala https://www.lynton-rail.co.uk/special-events/create-special-event-4
    25th-26th September - Mid Norfolk Railway Diesel Weekend https://www.midnorfolkrailway.co.uk/dieselweekend
    25th-26th September - Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway Autumn Diesel Gala https://www.gwsr.com/Autumn_Diesel_Gala_25th_26th_September_2021--post--70.html
    30th September - 3rd October - Great Central Railway Autumn Steam Gala https://www.gcrailway.co.uk/special-events/autumn-steam-gala/
    30th September - 3rd October - Severn Valley Railway Autumn Diesel Gala https://www.svr.co.uk/CalendarTimetable.aspx

    1st-3rd October - Watercress Line Autumn Steam Gala https://watercressline.co.uk/autumn-steam-gala
    1st-3rd October - West Somerset Railway Autumn Steam Gala https://www.west-somerset-railway.co.uk/timetables
    2nd-17th October - Mid Norfolk Railway Flying Scotsman visit to the MNR https://www.midnorfolkrailway.co.uk/flyingscotsman
    3rd October - West Lancs Railway Working Engines Gala https://www.westlancsrailway.org/copy-of-visitor-info-2021-1
    8th-10th October - Bluebell Railway Giants of Steam https://www.bluebell-railway.com/giants-of-steam/
    8th-10th October - Epping Ongar Railway London Transport Weekend https://www.eorailway.co.uk/events/london-transport-weekend/
    15th-17th October - East Lancs Railway Autumn Steam Gala http://www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk/events-activities/2021/10/autumn-steam-gala.aspx
    w/end-of-season-gala
    17th October - Amberley Museum Autumn Industrial Trains https://www.amberleymuseum.co.uk/whats-on/
    17th October - Bala Lake Railway Diesel Day https://bala-lake-railway.co.uk/events/diesel-day/
    22nd-24th October - Somerset & Dorset Railway at Midsomer Norton - End of Season Gala https://sdjr.co.uk/events/vie
    23rd-24th October - Didcot Railway Centre Diamond Jubliee Gala - Part 2 https://didcotrailwaycentre.org.uk/product.php/130/diamond-jubilee-gala-part-2
    23rd-24th October - Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway 40th Anniversary Gala https://www.gwsr.com/40th_Anniversary_Steam_Gala_23_24_October_2021--post--82.html
    23rd-24th October - Tyseley Locomotive Works Open Weekend https://vintagetrains.co.uk/open-weekend/

    13th-14th November - East Lancs Railway DMU Weekend www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk/events-activities/2021/11/dmu-weekend.aspx
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2021
  2. black5

    black5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Occupation:
    Theatre
    Location:
    Merseyside>Bury
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
  3. oliversbest

    oliversbest Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    107
    Thank you for this thread. a great help for planning a trans-atlantic trip
     
  4. SebWelsh

    SebWelsh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    599
    Gender:
    Male
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    At the WSR we have announced our gala dates today:

    Spring Steam Gala – “Western Standards” - Thursday 22nd and Sunday 25th April 2021
    Diesel Gala - “Vintage Diesels to the Seaside 111” - Thursday 10th and Sunday 13th June 2021
    Autumn Steam Gala – “Great Western Region” - Thursday 30th September and Sunday 3rd October 2021
    Winter Steam Festival – “A branch line in winter” - Wednesday 29th & Thursday 30th December 2021
     
  5. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    424
    green five and JBTEvans like this.
  6. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    424
  7. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    424
  8. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    424
  9. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    424
    Isle of Wight Railway 2021 events https://iwsteamrailway.co.uk/events/

    Includes:
    • Island Heritage Train Day: 18th April (Calbourne & goods train), 16th May (Newport & goods train), 20th June (Newport & 'Pull Push' set), 25th July (IWR carriage no. 10 in use), 15th August (IWR carriage no. 10 in use), 19th September (Newport & goods train) & 17th October (Ryde Pier Tram in use).
    • 50th Anniversary Gala: 4th-6th June (featuring 4 locos including Calbourne, Newport and a guest loco).
     
  10. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    424
    Shaggy likes this.
  11. JBTEvans

    JBTEvans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    480
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Newport (South Wales)
    ASG clashes with the WSR ASG (if it goes ahead).
     
  12. 21B

    21B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,874
    Likes Received:
    2,784
    We ran one this year...cant see why we shouldn't next?

    Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
     
  13. JBTEvans

    JBTEvans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    480
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Newport (South Wales)
    Depends on what happens doesn't it.
     
  14. JBTEvans

    JBTEvans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    480
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Newport (South Wales)
    *UNOFFICIAL*

    I notice the Dean Forest Railway have put up on the booking half of their website that every Wednesday/Saturday/Sunday will be a steam day from the middle of March until early November 2021.

    The only exception to the above is the weekend of Saturday 23rd & Sunday 24th October, which has been left blank.

    Saturday 23rd October 1971 was the first DFR Society open day at Parkend, so 2021 is the 50th anniversary of that weekend, so I expect they plan to hold a gala event in commemoration.

    A three day October 2020 gala was planned to mark the 50th year anniversary of the society being formed, but covid had other ideas.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2020
  15. D1039

    D1039 Part of the furniture

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,728
    Likes Received:
    2,516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    North Somerset
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    Severn Valley Railway, advance notice :

    • Spring Gala - 15th - 18th April

    • Spring Diesel Festival -13th - 16th May

    • Autumn Steam Gala - 16th - 19th September

    • Autumn Diesel Gala – 30th September - 3rd October

    • Season Finale Gala – 5th - 7th November
     
    JBTEvans likes this.
  16. Ben Jenden

    Ben Jenden Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    252
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Croydon
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    Bluebells dates. (Based on memory, someone can correct me if I am wrong on a few)

    Easter holidays - Brickworks
    May - Beer festival (tbc date)
    19th/20th June - Road meets Rail
    26th/27th June - Model Railway Weekend
    July - Diesel Gala (tbc date)
    6-8 August - 60+1 Anniversary gala
    September - Beer festival
    24th-26th September - Giants of Steam
    30th-31st October - Halloween.
     
    Jamessquared likes this.
  17. Jamessquared

    Jamessquared Nat Pres stalwart

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    22,993
    Likes Received:
    45,045
    Location:
    LBSC 215
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    You've got a good memory!

    Brickworks - 2nd - 11th April
    7 - 8 August - 60 plus 1 gala

    from the leaflet I saw. Plus Open Air Live Music and other events at selected times through the year.

    Tom
     
  18. A1X

    A1X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    769
    Occupation:
    Insurance
    Location:
    Good Old Sussex by the Sea
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    No I do not currently volunteer
     
  19. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    424
    East Lancs events:
    • Flying Scotsman Returns 2-6 April
    • 1940s Weekend 29-31 May
    • Summer Diesel Spectacular 1-3 July
    • Autumn Diesel Gala 17-18 September
    • Autumn Steam Gala 15-17 October
    • DMU Weekend 13-14 November
    Info from www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk/events-activities.aspx
     
  20. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    424
    black5 likes this.

Share This Page