If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

Trams, buses and TGV’s – drawings from the GEC archives

Discussion in 'National Railway Museum' started by Charlotte Dennard, Jul 1, 2016.

I have been cataloguing the GEC Traction archive for the past 7 months. The archive is the most extensive archive collection held at the National Railway Museum and I have just finished cataloguing the vast amount of drawings.

There are 1013 boxes and folders of drawings and within the boxes are 824 separate drawing rolls ranging from 1 to 250 drawings per roll.

There are a huge variety of drawings ranging from export locomotives to anti-aircraft guns used by the Royal Navy in World War Two, hundreds of mechanical component and wiring diagrams and a few ‘holy grails’ of general arrangements for British Railways locomotives including the Class 22 and 84. I have picked out a few to whet your appetite.

[​IMG]
    Arrangement of destination indicators for a Manchester Corporation bus
    (Ref: GEC/2/2/2/352)

[​IMG]
    Diesel electric locomotive general arrangement, a Rhodesia Class 40, 1958
    (Ref: GEC/2/2/2/82)

[​IMG]
    Electric wagon Post Office (London) Railway, 1938
    (Ref: GEC/2/2/2/140)

[​IMG]
    General arrangement of prototype train for Post Office (London) Railway
    (Ref: GEC/2/2/2/179)

[​IMG]
    General arrangement D.D.T.C centre entrance car, 1936
    (Ref: GEC/2/2/2/381)

[​IMG]
    S.N.C.F T.V.G. development train for high speed, c 1983
    (Ref: GEC/2/2/1/69)

Although the above drawings have been created by English Electric Company and GEC Alsthom Ltd, the archive contains many more by GEC Traction, Associated Electrical Industries, Metropolitan-Vickers Electrical Company, Vulcan Foundry Ltd, Robert Stephenson & Hawthorns and Beyer Peacock to name a few.