If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

Charles Wytock/Sinembe

Discussion in 'Narrow Gauge Railways' started by 61624, Apr 6, 2013.

1. 61624

61624 Part of the furniture

Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    Does anyone know what the current situation is with these engines?

2. estwdjhn

estwdjhn Member

Boilermaker
    Charles W was a rusting heap on the whhr until about 2003 when it was moved to a yorkshire location I believe. It's owner at the time was Graham Walton-Binns iirc.

I'm afraid I've no more recent knowledge of what happened to it.

3. marshall5

marshall5 Well-Known Member

Isn't one of them under restoration at Boston Lodge for the L&B ? Ray.

4. gwernol

gwernol New Member

Chief Technology Officer
    I don't think so. They're all similar Bagnalls, but the L&B one is Isaac, w/n 3023. Charles Wytock is 2819 and Sinembe is 2287.

Dan

5. Anthony Coulls

Anthony Coulls Well-Known Member

Both engines are on Teeside with the same owner, one is finished and looking for a home

6. lynbarn

lynbarn Well-Known Member

Working in the NHS as a Maintenance Electrician
    No I do not currently volunteer
    I thought he owned three of these locos? I am sure I have seen some photos of these locos in the workshop taken by some one last year, don't they have marine boilers? which could be fun if you don't know how to fire one of them.

7. estwdjhn

estwdjhn Member

Boilermaker
    Gelert and Isaac are a pair to the same design, but iirc they are a bit bigger and to a different design to the pair that is charles w / sinemebe.

I think you may be right about the later two having marine fireboxes - I have some memory of this being the case, and it was something bagnalls did a fair bit on their smaller designs.

8. 48DL

48DL Member