If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

Talyllyn Railway Press Release - Local Rotarians Honoured for ‘Race The Train’

Discussion in 'On Track.' started by Karen Willans, Apr 30, 2017.

    Tywyn Rotary Club were recently honoured with an award for organising 'Race the Train'

    There was a special gathering at Tywyn Wharf station on Thursday 20 April 2017, when past and present members of the Rotary Club of Tywyn were honoured by the awarding of the Wallasey Cup, presented by District 1180 of Rotary International Britain and Ireland for the best club project for organising the ‘Race the Train’ event for the last 33 years. Godfrey Worsley, for many years the Race Director, originally came up with the idea for the main race, which has become internationally famous, and features runners ‘racing’ a Talyllyn Railway train between Tywyn and Abergynolwyn and return, a total distance of some 14 miles.

    Since it started in 1984 the event has grown hugely and now attracts runners from all over the world eager to take part in this gruelling challenge. Runners wanting to beat the train have to complete the course in under 1 hour 47 minutes. Over the years the race has raised over a quarter of a million pounds for charity.

    The event now features a variety of different races over a number of distances to suit different abilities, which has added to its popularity. This year’s event is scheduled to take place on Saturday 19 August 2017, and the Tywyn Rotary Club is looking for volunteers to help assist with the event.

    For more information about the race please visit their website at www.racethetrain.com.

    The photo shows local Rotarians past and present gathered at Tywyn Wharf station to be presented with the Wallasey Cup for their organisation of the ‘Race The Train’ event.

    Left to Right: Maciek Wood-Kaczmar, John Derry, Lawrence Garvey, Ritchie Owens, Graham Clarke, John Lloyd Jones, Anthony Pearson (President), Elwyn Price, Tracey Parkinson (General Manager Talyllyn Railway), Godfrey Worsey (Former Race Director), George Watson (Current Race Director), John Sidebotham, Nancy Clarke (Senior Vice President), Elfyn James, Paul Cartwright, Peter Saunders, Stephanie Purcell.

    (Photo: Darren Turner)

    For further information about this press release please e-mail: pressoffice [at] talyllyn [dot] co [dot] uk or phone 01654 710472.


Share This Page